Tarka Trail


National Cycle Network

National Cycle Network Route 27 signpost

The National Cycle Network is a network of safe, traffic-free paths and quiet on-road cycling and walking routes. Its 14,000 miles criss-cross the entire country, linking up villages, towns and cities.

The Network is used by almost five million people a year and runs into town centres, past schools and through stunning countryside from Cornwall to the Shetland Isles.

The Tarka Trail features one of the country’s longest continuous traffic-free walking and cycling paths at just over 30 miles. There are two National Cycle Network routes that use the Tarka Trail for part of their journey.

Route 27 travels south into Braunton, where the 30 mile off-road section starts. The route continues through to Barnstaple, where you pick up Route 3 to continue your journey all the way to Meeth.

NCN Route 27 – known as the Devon Coast to Coast cycle route, it runs from Ilfracombe to Plymouth, following the Tarka Trail for the first part of the route between Ilfracombe and Barnstaple. Click here to find out more

NCN Route 3 – a long distance National Cycle Network route that connects Land’s End in Cornwall to Bristol, via St. Austell, Bude, Barnstaple, Taunton and Wells. Also known as the West Country Way. Click here to find out more


Here are some routes on this site you may enjoy:

Cycling routes